Tuesday, 19 April 2011


Posted by chardyboy on Tuesday, April 19, 2011 0 comments

source: pba.ph

Three Alaska players and three more from San Miguel, including rookie big man Rabeh Al-Hussaini, were named to the final rosters of both North and South All-Star teams which will pit skills in the 2011 PBA All-Star Game in Boracay a month from now. 

The three Aces voted as reserves by the PBA head coaches are big men Joe Devance and Sonny Thoss and playmaker L.A. Tenorio , while Al-Hussaini is joined by fellow Beermen Arwind Santos and Alex Cabagnot. 

Al-Hussaini, the year’s No. 2 overall pick and the only freshman to make it to the All-Star line up, will suit up for the North squad of San Miguel mentor Ato Agustin along with Santos, Cabagnot and Tenorio.
Devance and Thoss, on the other hand, represent the ‘Twin Tower’ off the bench for the South All-Stars under Talk `N Text mentor Chot Reyes. 

Completing the reserves for the North are Talk `N Text’s frontcourt tandem of Ranidel de Ocampo and Harvey Carey, along with Meralco hotshot MacMac Cardona. 

Perennial All-Star Jimmy Alapag of Talk `N Text, meanwhile, is again suiting up for the South together with Derby Ace’s Peter June Simon, Meralco veteran center Asi Taulava and the Air21 pair of Dondon Hontiveros and Danny Seigle. 

Voted by fans as starters for North are Mark Pingris, Kerby Raymundo, Mark Caguioa, Willie Miller and last year’s All-Star MVP Gabe Norwood.

James Yap, Jay Washington, Kelly Williams, Eric Menk and Cyrus Baguio make up the starting unit for South.

The pro league is holding the annual, mid-season spectacle on the island of Boracay for the first time, in partnership with Cre8 Events Asia under president Carlo Quevada.

This developed as the league also announced the lineup for the Rookies versus Sophomores Blitz Game, and the participants in the slam dunk, three-point shootout and obstacle challenge side events.

No. 1 overall rookie pick Noy Baclao banners the freshmen selection, where he is joined by Rey Guevarra, Elmer Espiritu, Rob Labagala, Hans Thiele, Josh Vanlandingham, Shawn Weinstein and John Wilson.

Josh Urbiztondo and Chris Ross will be at the helm of the sophomore team and will have for teammates Francis Allera, Marcy Arellano, Jervy Cruz, Gerwin Gaco, Emerson Oreta.

Third year pro Larry Rodriguez has been named to augment the Sophomores team replacing the injured Rico Maierhofer.

KG Canaleta won’t be around for a shot at a fifth PBA slam dunk title, and out to displace him from his throne are some of the league’s certified high-flyers in Norwood, JC Intal, Ronald Tubid, Washington, Espiritu, a former PBL ‘slam’ titleholder, Guevarra, and former champion Williams.

Mark Macapagal goes for a back-to-back three-point shootout titles as he defends his crown against deadly gunners Alapag, Cardona, Devance, Hontiveros, Tubid, Ronjay Buenafe, Sunday Salvacion and James Yap.

Jonas Villanueva also tries to do the same in the Obstacle Challenge where he will be tested to the hilt by Alapag, Buenafe, Cabagnot, Miller, Ross, Tenorio, Urbiztondo and Gary David.

Four-time league MVP Alvin Patrimonio will team up with Agustin and Allan Caidic to challenge the top three finishers of the 3-point shootout in the equally interesting Legends Shootout that will serve as appetizer to the All-Star Game on All-Star Sunday.


0 Responses so far:

Leave a Reply