Wednesday, 4 May 2011

La Salle Archers capture men's volleyball crown - sunstar

Posted by chardyboy on Wednesday, May 04, 2011 0 comments

source: By Roderick Osis

DE LA Salle University stormed down second seed National University in the semis in five tough sets before finishing National College of Business and Arts in the championship round to claim the crown in the men's division at the close of the 2011 National Intercollegiate Tournament during the weekend.
Despite absorbing two losses in the quarter finals, the Archers squad pounced on NCBA to capture their first crown in the contest organized by the Philippine Volleyball Federation at the Benguet Capitol in four sets, 25-14, 26-24, 23-25, 27-25.

De La Salle earlier nipped fellow UAAP contender NU in their semis match with five grueling sets, 25-21, 25-19, 25-27, 24-26, 18-16, to march into the finals.
NCBA earlier made it to the finals after stopping Saint Dominic Savio College in their semis match, 25-19, 25-23, 21-25, 25-23.

The first runner up finish for NBCA will be their second straight year after bowing to Rizal Technological University in last year's competition while La Salle improved its third place finish from last year.

The Archers also marked the back to back victories in this year's tournament after the Lady Archers also won the championship in the distaff side.

The NU Bulldogs, meanwhile, copped third place honors by defeating SDSC, 25-18, 25-18, 20-25, 27-25, 15-8.

Individual Awards

Five Lady Archers while four other Archers bagged individual honors at the close of the tournament at the Benguet Capitol.

Charlene Cruz bagged the most valuable player crown while fellow Lady Archers Melissa Gohing (best libero), Michelle Gumabao (best attacker), and Kim Fajardo (best setter) also won individual awards while coach Ramil De Jesus took the best coach award in the women's division.

University of the Cordilleras Jhiesel Agudia and Mary Ann Biay bagged the best blocker and best receiver awards, respectively, while AMA Computer University's Janice Mary Chu took the best server award.

The men's squad of De La Salle also netted themselves individual honors led by MVP awardee Antonio Christopher, best receiver John Dela Rosa, best setter Brendern Santos, and best coach Simfronio Acaylar.

NCBA bagged two individual awards courtesy of best attacker Salvador Timbal, and best libero Jeffrey Ken Yano while NU's Peter Denmar Torres won the best blocker plum with SDSC's Kenny Harde winning the best server award.


0 Responses so far:

Leave a Reply